argument top image

What is love? Show more Show less
Back to question

Few words in the English language convey such a range of meanings as the word "love". For many, love is the point of existence, for others it's the manifestation of the divine, for some it is a tool of oppression. No other subject has spawned so much poetry. But what is love? Is it an animalistic urge, a mystical aspiration, a social construct, a neurological glitch, or nothing at all?

It depends on the type of love Show more Show less

There are many different types of love. Each one is something different.
< (6 of 6)

The seven types of love

The ancient Greeks had names for the seven different types of love.


The ancient Greeks were far more precise in their definition of love. This was reflected in their language.

The Argument

Eros is the type of love that involves a passionate, intense desire for something or someone. We might refer to this love as attraction. It does not necessarily have to be reciprocal. We simply desire something for what it is and the esteem in which we hold it. Philia, unlike Eros, is more of a fondness and appreciation for something. It is not as intense a desire as Eros and does not have to be romantic or sexual. Philia might be the type of love we hold for our family or our boss or even our job. Agape refers to the brotherly or paternal love for humanity. In ancient Greece, it was the love that God feels for humanity. It can also be extended to mean the paternal, unconditional love that transcends all earthly and mortal bounds.[1] Storge applies to the affection and caring love you have for your family. Philautia is the love of oneself. Ludus is the playful love children experiences, and finally, Pragma is the long-standing love of a couple that has been together for many years.[2]

Counter arguments

Not all of these are really love. Some conflate enjoyment for love. For example, philia is a fondness and appreciation for a person or object. This is not the same as love. Unlike other definition's of love, Plato's is too wide in its scope. It includes feelings that would be better ascribed to enjoyment, appreciation and fondness.



[P1] There are seven different types of love. [P2] Each has its own unique properties and characteristics.

Rejecting the premises

[Rejecting P1] This wide definition includes enjoyment and fondness, which are not love.


This page was last edited on Monday, 15 Apr 2019 at 15:40 UTC

Explore related arguments